Our Schools

Our 26 elementary, middle and high schools provide educational services to our community that encompasses approximately 143,000 citizens. The district’s boundaries include the entire county of Sumter, which is 682 square miles. Our total enrollment is approximately 17,000 students.

There are currently 16 elementary schools in Sumter School District. Enrollment ranges from approximately 180 students at the smallest school to 893 at the largest school. Elementary schools are Alice Drive Elementary, Cherryvale Elementary, Crosswell Drive Elementary, F.J. Delaine Elementary, High Hills Elementary, Kingsbury Elementary, Lemira Elementary, Manchester Elementary, Millwood Elementary, Oakland Primary, Pocalla Springs Elementary, R.E. Davis Elementary, Rafting Creek Elementary, Shaw Heights Elementary, Wilder Elementary and Willow Drive Elementary.

The school district presently has seven middle schools which are Alice Drive Middle, Bates Middle, Chestnut Oaks Middle, Ebenezer Middle, Furman Middle, Hillcrest Middle and Mayewood Middle. Enrollment ranges from approximately 160 students at the smallest school to 910 at the largest school.

The three high schools in Sumter School District are Crestwood High, Lakewood High and Sumter High. Lakewood and Crestwood enroll approximately 1,100 students each, and Sumter enrolls approximately 2,300 students.

Nationally known for excellence, our schools have earned numerous prestigious recognitions. Our academic, fine arts and athletic programs are second to none, and our facilities are state of the art. Sumter School District remains committed to its mission of providing an intellectual, safe, and nurturing environment, which equips students to be responsible, successful, and productive citizens in a global society.